August 3-11, 2019 - TorontoGet Tickets
Home   News   Dodig and Melo crowned Rogers Cup champions

Dodig and Melo crowned Rogers Cup champions

Aug 01, 2016
written by: Tennis Canada
written by: Tennis Canada
filed in:

A new set of doubles champions have been crowned at Rogers Cup presented by National Bank. Ivan Dodig of Croatia and Brazil’s Marcelo Melo conquered No. 2 seeds Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares 6-4, 6-4 on Sunday to capture the title at Toronto’s Aviva Centre. It is the first Rogers Cup championship for both Dodig and Melo, who dispatched a series of strong competitors on the road to the title.

After a rain interruption late in the first set with the No. 3 seeds up a break, Dodig and Melo maintained their momentum. They registered six aces and broke their British-Brazilian opponents twice in the one hour and 10-minute affair.

In the second meeting between the two teams, Dodig and Melo’s win evens up the head-to-head record at 1-1. The victory also saw Dodig and Melo capture their first title of the year and fifth career championship together.

In a unique twist, Melo and Soares will now be switching from rivals to teammates as the two Brazilians are a duo at the upcoming Rio Olympic Games in their home country.