October 29, 2012

Tennis’ Big Four Return to Montreal in 2013

After crowning Petra Kvitova, one of the WTA’s rising stars in 2012, the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank will once again host the ATP World Tour in 2013 with Andy, Milos, Nole, Rafa, and Roger returning to Montreal from August 2-11.

Men’s tennis currently find itself in a golden era with no less than four of the sport’s all-time greats playing at the highest level at the same time and taking the game to new heights. It seems that every week Djokovic, Federer, Murray, or Nadal are setting new records and further cementing their status as tennis legends. Every member of the ATP’s “big four” has won the Rogers Cup at least twice. Djokovic is a three-time champion and he has won the tournament the last two years.

2012 was a banner year for Canadian tennis led by the continued rise of Milos Raonic who, at 21 years of age, is the youngest player ranked in the Top 20, reaching a career-high of no. 14 in October.  The Canadian has won two ATP titles this season and has also posted victories over Andy Murray, Tomas Berdych, and Janko Tipsarevic. He is being pegged by many as the leader of the new generation in men’s tennis. The last time Raonic played the Rogers Cup in Montreal in 2009, he qualified for the main draw and held a match point against Fernando Gonzalez in the first round in a memorable night session encounter on National Bank Court.      

Join us and be a part of history next summer at Uniprix Stadium.

Copyright 2013 Tennis Canada. All Right Reserved. Tennis Canada Privacy Policy
contact Tennis Canada