August 3-11, 2019 - TorontoGet Tickets
Home   News   Road to Toronto: First Masters 1000 events begin in Indian Wells and Miami

Road to Toronto: First Masters 1000 events begin in Indian Wells and Miami

Feb 29, 2016
written by: Tennis Canada
written by: Tennis Canada
filed in:

Rogers Cup presented by National Bank is one of just nine Masters 1000 tournaments in the world – the biggest events after Grand Slams – and the first of those start next week at Indian Wells.

The quality of the fields at both Indian Wells and Miami will be world-class and indicative of the players fans will be able to see in Toronto this year. Of the Top 30-ranked athletes on the ATP World Tour, the two American hard court tournaments are only missing Roger Federer, who is recovering from knee surgery. Federer has listed Toronto as one of his stops this year on his website.

Did you know?

  • Rogers Cup is the oldest of the nine Masters 1000s, having been around since 1881. For their parts, Indian Wells crowned its first champion in 1976 and Miami in 1985. The first champion of Indian Wells was Jimmy Connors. That same year, it was Guillermo Vilas who claimed the Canadian Open. Meanwhile, American Tim Mayotte, a former world No. 7, won the first Miami trophy 31 years ago. The Canadian champ that season? John McEnroe, successfully defending his title from the year before.
  • In the past 12 years, only one Rogers Cup has been won by a player not named Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, or Andy Murray. That was Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, who had one of the best weeks of his career in defeating four Top 10 players en route to the 2014 title. Since 2004, Djokovic, Murray, and Nadal have each clinched the Canadian Masters three times, while Federer has won twice. Indian Wells has a similar record, with Ivan Ljubicic in 2010 the only outlier outside the Big Four since 2004. Miami has had the greatest variance in those 12 years, with Andy Roddick winning twice (2004, 2010) alongside Nikolay Davydenko in 2008.
  • Except for Tsonga in 2014, the last five winners of Rogers Cup have also won at least one other Masters 1000 in that same year:
    2015 – Murray – Madrid
    2014 – Tsonga – None
    2013 – Nadal – Indian Wells, Madrid, Rome, Cincinnati
    2012 – Djokovic – Miami, Shanghai
    2011 – Djokovic – Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid, Rome
  • In the past five years, winners of Indian Wells or Miami have gone to also take Rogers Cup four times. In 2013, Nadal won both Indian Wells and Rogers Cup, while Djokovic has done it three times – Miami and Canada in 2012, and in 2011, he won all three tournaments.

Toronto will be the sixth stop on the Masters 1000 train – following Indian Wells, Miami, Monte Carlo, Madrid and Rome. The three Masters that follow Rogers Cup are Cincinnati, Shanghai, and Paris. The journey to Canada’s largest city begins next week in California and concludes at Aviva Centre in Toronto July 23-31.

Will someone new or unexpected be able to claim either trophy over the next month? Follow along to find out! The BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells will take place March 7-20, with the Miami Open taking over the tennis world from March 21 – April 3. TSN is the new home of Masters 1000 tournaments in Canada, and will be broadcasting Indian Wells and Miami live over the next month. Click here for the complete schedule.