Tournament History

Rogers Cup presented by National Bank is a prestigious professional tennis tournament organized by Tennis Canada. Since 1881 for the men and 1892 for the women, the best players in the world have showcased their skills on Canadian courts. Only Wimbledon and the US Open have longer histories than this major Canadian stop, which is acknowledged by the tennis world to be one of the best-run tournaments on the Tour. Classified as a Premier 5 event on the WTA calendar, Rogers Cup presented by National Bank offers over US $3 million in prize money and attracts the biggest stars in tennis year after year.

Montreal and Toronto share the task of hosting the best men's and women's players in the world, with both tournaments played at the same time, during the same week. So, from August 8-16, 2015, the women will be in Toronto while the men will play in Montreal.

Agnieszka Radwanska is the defending champion, as she lost just one set en route to capturing the biggest title of her season and 14th overall. She defeated Venus Williams, who was playing some of her best recent tennis, in the final at Uniprix Stadium. In 2013, the last time the women visited Toronto, Serena Williams triumphed over Sorana Cirstea to win her third overall Rogers Cup trophy, with each title coming in Toronto.

The impressive list of past champions for this Canadian stop on the professional tennis circuit includes such legendary names as Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert, Monica Seles, Steffi Graf, Martina Hingis, Justine Henin, Kim Clijsters, and Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario. Faye Urban Mlacek is the last Canadian to have won the trophy on home soil, as she captured both the singles and doubles (with Vicki Berner) championships in 1969.

Tournament Directors

Karl Hale - 2007-present

Grant Connell - 2006

Stacey Allaster - 2002-2005

Jane Wynne - 1995-2001

John Beddington - 1979-1994

Don Fontana - 1971-1978

Past Champions & Draws


Copyright 2013 Tennis Canada. All Right Reserved. Tennis Canada Privacy Policy
contact Tennis Canada