Tournament History

Stars of ATP TOUR return to Toronto for the 2020 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank

Rogers Cup presented by National Bank is a prestigious professional tennis tournament owned and operated by Tennis Canada. Since 1881 for the men and 1892 for the women, the best players in the world have showcased their skills on Canadian courts. Only Wimbledon and the US Open have longer histories than this major Canadian stop, which is acknowledged by the tennis world to be one of the best-run tournaments on the professional circuit.

Montreal and Toronto share the task of hosting the best men’s and women’s players in the world, with both tournaments played at the same time during the same week. From August 8-16, 2020, the men will be in Toronto while the women will play in Montreal. Classified as an ATP Masters 1000 event on the ATP Tour calendar, Rogers Cup attracts the biggest stars in tennis year after year.

Tournament Directors

Karl Hale – 2007-present
Grant Connell – 2006
Stacey Allaster – 2002-2005
Jane Wynne – 1995-2001
John Beddington – 1979-1994
Don Fontana – 1971-1978